Monday, September 9, 2013

NASA Asteroid Redirect Mission

NASA Discusses Asteroid Initiative Progress at AIAA's Space 2013





Several NASA officials will update media Wednesday, Sept. 11, about the agency's progress on a proposed mission to find, capture, redirect and visit a near-Earth asteroid. 


The briefing will take place at 3 p.m. PDT (6 p.m. EDT) at the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics' Space 2013 Conference and Exposition at the San Diego Convention Center in California.

The participants are: 
-- William Gerstenmaier, associate administrator, NASA's Human Exploration and Operations Directorate, Washington 
-- Paul Chodas, Senior Scientist, NASA Near-Earth Object Program Office 
-- Brian Muirhead, chief engineer, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif. 
-- James Reuther, deputy associate administrator for programs, NASA's Space Technology Mission Directorate, Washington 
-- Steve Stich, deputy director of engineering, NASA's Johnson Space Center

Houston Audio of the teleconference will be streamed live at: http://www.nasa.gov/newsaudio 

"NASA's Asteroid Redirect Mission," which will air on NASA Television beginning at noon PDT (3 p.m. EDT) Wednesday. NASA's asteroid initiative continues to take shape. 


 


Recently, the agency chose 96 ideas it regards as most promising from more than 400 submitted in response to its June request for information about protecting earth from asteroids and finding an asteroid humans can explore. 

Those ideas will be presented at NASA's Asteroid Initiative Idea Synthesis Workshop from Sept. 30 to Oct. 2 at the Lunar and Planetary Institute in Houston. 

For NASA TV streaming video, downlink and scheduling information, visit: http://www.nasa.gov/ntv 

For more information on NASA's asteroid initiative, visit: http://www.nasa.gov/asteroidinitiative